Not Supposed to Be Here

Groan. Again?

Seems like every third bird I enter into the eBird database these days results in the little CONFIRM box popping up and I have to go into all sorts of detail to convince someone somewhere (a county records committee?) that yes, I really saw what I say I saw.  I find the process to be intimidating and I really hate it when the little box pops up.

Today alone I have something like six or seven different sightings requiring explaining, proof, photos, anything I can provide that will convince the eBird volunteers that I am not hallucinating.

Four beautiful male Red-winged Blackbirds have visited my feeders every day for about a week. Is their year-round territory creeping northward?

I also have an American Robin coming to drink from the bird bath daily.

Anyway, I have to post any photos I manage to get somewhere on the web so I can then link to them from my eBird checklist. Hence this blog post. Thank you for your indulgence.

Blackbird2

See his little epaulet peeking out?

Blackbird
I don’t actually have a camera. So each of these shots represents my having wrangled the spotting scope into position behind the window then holding my iPhone up to the scope and wiggling it around until the light from the scope lines up just perfectly with the viewfinder of the iPhone camera. Usually by the time I’ve done all that, the bird has long since flown away.

gull
Believe it or not, there is a gull of interest in this crappy photo I took today at Lighthouse Cove. Glaucous Gull, perhaps? There were three of them among the Ring-billed, Herring and Great Black Backed Gulls, gazillion American Crows and at least one Bald Eagle.

On the way out there I stopped to watch small mixed flocks of Horned Larks, Lapland Longspurs and Snow Buntings. Thank you to Carmen for notifying me of the Lapland Longspurs out that way. My third winter trying, I finally got them!

2 responses to “Not Supposed to Be Here

  1. Happy New Year Kelly!
    I have red winged blackbirds year round here and I love them.
    xoxo

  2. Oh awesome Kelly! Glad you finally got to see the Lapland Longspurs! :-)

Leave a Reply

